Conseil d'administration

Phillip Riese

Président

Phillip Riese est président de RIESE & OTHERS, un véhicule d'investissement familial qui investit aux côtés de sociétés de capital-risque et de sociétés de capital-investissement dans le monde entier, en particulier dans les domaines des services financiers de rupture; de nouveaux domaines d'excellence et d'efficacité marketing; et des analyses avancées. Il est membre du conseil d'un certain nombre de ces entreprises.

Avant de créer la société, Phillip Riese a travaillé pendant 18 ans chez American Express jusqu'à devenir président de l'American Express Centurion Bank et président du Consumer Card Group, dirigeant les équipes qui ont redressé les activités principales d'American Express. Avant de travailler chez American Express, Phillip Riese a été cadre de division à la Chase Manhattan Bank et partenaire chez M.C. Geffen, une société sud-africaine de conseil.

Phillip Riese a un Bachelor of Commerce en Textiles de l'université de Leeds au Royaume-Uni, un MBA de l'université de Cape Town en Afrique du Sud et un Master of Science du MIT aux États-Unis.

Mike Massaro

Membre du conseil

Mike Massaro est le directeur général de Flywire. Il a développé avec succès des sociétés pendant les 12 dernières années, qu'il s'agisse de startups ou d'entreprises valant plusieurs milliards de dollars. Avant Flywire, Mike Massaro a été vice-président des comptes stratégiques et du développement de l'entreprise chez Carrier iQ, classée neuvième dans le Top 50 de 2011 du Wall Street Journal des sociétés financées par du capital-risque. Il y a dirigé l'équipe des ventes mondiales pendant cinq ans et a également été responsable du développement de nouveaux marchés et d'alliances mondiales. Avant Carrier IQ, Mike Massaro a occupé plusieurs postes de vendeur et de conseiller chez edocs, Inc., acquise par Siebel Systems en 2004, puis par Oracle en 2005.

Mike Massaro a commencé sa carrière au service du risque technique de PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP et a un Bachelor of Science en Management du système d'information du Babson College.

Alex Finkelstein

Membre du conseil

Alex Finkelstein est partenaire chez Spark Capital et a rejoint la société à sa création. Il a dirigé les investissements de Spark dans 5min Media (acquis par AOL), 8D World, Altius Education, Linkwell, Flywire, OnSwipe et Wayfair. Alex Finkelstein travaille principalement avec et investit dans les entrepreneurs profondément passionnés qui n'ont pas peur de quitter des emplois stables pour créer des entreprises novatrices.

Avant de rejoindre Spark Capital, Alex Finkelstein a créé et produit un certain nombre d'émissions télévisées et de propriétés Internet qu'il a vendu à de grands réseaux tels que FOX, E!, Discovery, ITV1 (Royaume-Uni) et Yahoo. Les programme d'Alex Finkelstein avaient tous des composants majeurs d'intégration de produit et ont été vendus en partenariat avec les marques les plus riches de Fortune 500.

Auparavant, Alex Finkelstein a été directeur chez Seed Capital Partners, une société de capital-risque précoce formée en partenariat avec Softbank. Avant de rejoindre Seed Capital Partners, Alex Finkelstein a été un collaborateur de GrandBanks Capital, une société de capital-risque précoce formée elle aussi en partenariat avec Softbank.

Alex Finkelstein a également travaillé pour Cambridge Associates, où il était adjoint principal de recherche sur le capital-risque et conseiller principal.

Alex Finkelstein a obtenu un Bachelor of Arts en Science Politique du Middlebury College.

David Jegen

Membre du conseil

David jegen est partenaire chez F-Prime Capital, le bras d'investissement privé des propriétaires de Fideliry Investments. David investit dans un fond de société de capital-risque précoce focalisé sur Entreprise IT et FinTech et a dirigé des investissements dans Cloudant (acquis par IBM en 2014), Codeship, Kensho, FutureAdvisor, Tradier et Eris Exchange.

David était l'un des cofondateurs de Sentoria, Inc. (des systèmes de détection d'explosifs) et un des premiers employés de Into Networks (acquis par Softricity, faisant maintenant partie de Microsoft). Plus récemment, David était cadre supérieur à Cisco Systems. David a été l'un des premiers employés de J.P Morgan & Co et de The Boston Consulting Group.

David a été diplômé de l'école de droit de Harvard ainsi qu'en économie et en comptabilité à l'université d'Indiana. David a collaboré au comité de supervision du Boston Museum of Science et est également cofondateur de FinTech Sandbox, une communauté à but non lucratif qui aide les entrepreneurs de FinTech en rassemblant des données et des infrastructures gratuitement dans la phase de développement d'une startup.

Matt Harris

Membre du conseil

Matt Harris a rejoint Bain Capital Ventures (BCV) en 2012 et dirige le bureau de New York de la société. Matt Harris se concentre sur les investissements dans les sociétés de services aux entreprises pour BCV et plus particulièrement sur les sociétés de services financiers et de paiements comme Billtrust, Chrome River, Novus Partners et OpenFin.

Avant de rejoindre BCV, Matt Haris a cofondé et dirigé Village Ventures, chez qui il a dirigé des investissements dans BlueTarp, Consumer United, Dwolla, iSend, OnDeck, Simple et TxVia. Auparavant, il a travaillé pour le groupe de capital-investissement chez Bain Capital.

Matt Haris est diplômé en Économie Politique du Williams College.

Board of Directors

Phillip Riese Chairman

Phillip Riese is president of RIESE & OTHERS a family investment vehicle that invests alongside Venture Capital and Private Equity firms globally, focusing on disruptive financial services; new domains of marketing excellence and efficiency; and advanced analytics. He is a board member of a number of these companies.

Prior to forming the company, he spent 18 years at American Express, ultimately as Chairman of American Express Centurion Bank and President of the Consumer Card Group, leading the teams that turned around American Express’ core business. Before his tenure American Express, Mr. Riese was a Division Executive at Chase Manhattan Bank and a partner at M.C. Geffen, a consulting firm in South Africa.

Phillip has an B.Com in Textiles from Leeds University in the UK, an MBA from the University of CapeTown in South Africa, and an MS from MIT in the US.

Mike Massaro Board Member

Mike is the Chief Executive Officer of Flywire. He has successfully grown organizations for the past 12 years, both in start-up environments and multi-billion dollar companies. Prior to Flywire, he was Vice President of Strategic Accounts & Corporate Development at Carrier iQ, ranked #9 in the Wall Street Journal’s Top 50 Venture-Funded Companies of 2011, where he lead the global sales team in revenue for five years as well as being responsible for new market development and global alliances. Prior to Carrier iQ, Mike held numerous sales and consulting positions at edocs, Inc. which was acquired by Siebel Systems in 2004 and subsequently by Oracle in 2005.

Mike began his career as part of the technical risk services practice at PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP and has a Bachelor of Science degree in Management Information Systems from Babson College.

Alex Finkelstein Board Member

Alex Finkelstein is a General Partner at Spark Capital and joined the firm at its inception. He has led Spark’s investments in 5min Media (acquired by AOL), 8D World, Altius Education, Linkwell, Flywire, OnSwipe and Wayfair. Alex focuses on working with and investing in highly passionate entrepreneurs who enjoy leaving stable jobs to build transformative companies.

Prior to joining Spark Capital, Alex was the creator and producer of a number of television shows and Internet properties that he sold to major networks, including FOX, E!, Discovery, ITV1 (U.K.) and Yahoo. Alex’s shows all had major product integration components and were sold in partnership with Fortune 500 brands.

Previously Alex was a Principal at Seed Capital Partners, an early-stage venture capital firm that was formed in partnership with Softbank. Before joining Seed Capital Partners, Alex was an Associate at GrandBanks Capital, an early-stage venture capital firm that was also formed in partnership with Softbank.

Alex also worked at Cambridge Associates, where he served as a Senior Venture Capital Research Associate and Senior Consulting Associate.

Alex Finkelstein holds a BA in political science from Middlebury College.

David Jegen Board Member

David Jegen is a Partner with F-Prime Capital, the private investment arm of the owners of Fidelity Investments. David invests an early-stage venture capital fund focused on Enterprise IT and FinTech and has led investments in Cloudant (acquired by IBM 2014), Codeship, Kensho, FutureAdvisor, Tradier and Eris Exchange.

David was a co-founder of Sensoria, Inc. (explosive detection systems) and an early employee at Into Networks (acquired by Softricity, now part of Microsoft). Most recently, David was a senior executive at Cisco Systems. David held early positions at J.P. Morgan & Co. and The Boston Consulting Group.

David graduated Harvard Law School and earned degrees in economics and accounting from Indiana University. David has served on the Board of Overseers of the Boston Museum of Science and is also a Co-Founder of FinTech Sandbox, a community nonprofit that serves FinTech entrepreneurs by aggregating data and infrastructure for free during a startup’s development phase.

Matt Harris Board Member

Matt joined Bain Capital Ventures (BCV) in 2012 and leads the firm’s NYC office. Matt focuses on investments in business services companies for BCV with a particular emphasis on financial services and payments companies including Billtrust, Chrome River, Novus Partners and OpenFin.

Prior to BCV, Matt co-founded and ran Village Ventures, from which he led investments in BlueTarp, Consumer United, Dwolla, iSend, OnDeck, Simple and TxVia. Earlier in his career, Matt worked in the private equity group at Bain Capital.

Matt graduated from Williams College with a degree in Political Economy.

Pablo Ventura Aranguren Board Member

Pablo, the Managing Director of the José Manuel Entrecanales Foundation, has spent the majority of his career working in the venture capital sector. He joined the José Manuel Entrecanales Foundation at the firm's inception and has been involved in over 20 investments. In addition to Flywire, he also sits on the board of Job & Talent and World Sensing and was a former board member of Redbooth and Dexma Sensors.

Pablo holds an Industrial Engineer Degree from Instituto Católico de Artes Industriales (ICAI), a Food Industries Engineer Degree from Universidad Politécnica of Madrid (UPM) and a MBA from IESE Business School.

What customers are saying...

“It was really a quick process and immediate acknowledgement of the receipt is well appreciated.”
Ravi, from India